Indian biologists welcome budget hike

Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country A top priority for the new government is water resources. It plans to spend $340 million on a massive effort to tackle pollution in the Ganges River, the most sacred river for Hindus. Modi has promised to clean up the Ganges, whose basin is home to some 400 million people, by 2019. India is also embarking on a $168 billion National River Linking Project that envisages constructing more than 15,000 kilometers of canals and tunnels to shunt water to parched areas of the country; the government allocated $16.6 million in the coming year for preparatory work.The money could go even further if the government were to remove “mindless restrictions and controls that significantly devalue the money allocated,” says evolutionary biologist Raghavendra Gadagkar, president of the Indian National Science Academy. “It is my hope that this government will make radical reforms in the bureaucratic control over research.” After debate in Parliament, the budget is expected to be finalized in the next several weeks. NEW DELHI—Clean water, biotechnology, and higher education are among the winners in the Indian budget presented by the new government in the lower house of Parliament here today.Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government requested $300 billion for the 2014 to 2015 fiscal year, roughly $20 billion more than last year. That increase is unlikely to keep pace with inflation, which is about 8.3% in 2014. The Ministry of Science and Technology fared better than many agencies: It is in line for a 7.1% increase, to $1.045 billion. “In very difficult times, an extraordinarily favorable budget has been delivered to the Indian scientific community,” says K. VijayRaghavan, secretary of the Department of Biotechnology.Physical sciences will take a hit. The Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in Mumbai, a stronghold in physical sciences, must make do with $46 million in 2014 to 2015, about one-third less than last year. And India’s main nuclear weapons laboratory, the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre in Mumbai, will get $216 million, a $35 million cut. Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *