UL Faculty Memorialize Members Lost during Ebola Period

first_imgAfter a year and a half of struggle to overcome trauma Ebola and other circumstances that caused University of Liberia Faculty Association (ULFA) to lose some of its staffer members, the association on Feb. 27 memorialized the victims and others who died during the period.The ULFA, the UL Administration and some family members converged in the UL Auditorium on Capitol Hill and reflected on the lives of those who died.In a statement during the ceremony, UL Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. S. Momolu Getaweh said, “We have come to memorialize those staff members and students who died from the man made disease, Ebola.”“During the crisis,” he said, “some people got well paid jobs and bought big cars; solicited huge amount of money and built houses; yet others fell prey to the disease, with their families left in sorrow.”“It is better to go to the house of mourning than to go to the house of feasting, for that is the end of all men,” he said, quoting a verse from the Bible.In consonance with this quotation, Dr. Getaweh said ULFA members were together that day to console families of those who died from the deadly Ebola virus disease (EVD) and other conditions during that period.As expected, it was an emotion moment for families and friends who paid tributes to their deceased with the hope that they would one day meet “in glory as believers in the Lord Jesus Christ.”The family members acknowledged the UL for the step taken to remember their loved ones, with one family member emphasizing that not many institutions can do such a thing after their workers died.A ULFA member said they have been working on benefits packages for the deceased, while the association was going through transition; something he said was a factor that delayed holding the memorial service.ULFA also memorized victims of Ebola and others, who died during the crisis. They included Fatu Gitthens-White, Abraham S. Borbor, Samzhomo Koleh, Taban J. Dada, Lavela S. Pewee and Fred G. S. Kpaingbeh.Others were Esther G. Mulbah, Danny Goe, Benjamin K. Johnson, R. Jarsiah Weedor, Peter W. Simujla and Vamuyan N. Abdullai.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *