Five CPL matches confirmed for Guyana

first_img… Tickets go on sale from tomorrowTHE suspense is over! Five Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) games have been confirmed for the Guyana National Stadium, Providence. This is according to a release from CPL OPCO Guyana Inc., yesterday.While Chronicle Sport cannot confirm if the Host Venue Agreement was signed, this publication understands that Minister of Social Cohesion, Dr George Norton met with officials from the Guyana Amazon Warriors management team and CPL sometime last week, to iron out the way forward with respect to Guyana being a venue for the upcoming CPL tournament.Guyana had not been listed as one of the seven venues to host the seventh edition when the official schedule was released, despite being one of the largest supporting crowds in the past. As is customary, venue agreements are mandatory by each host country, and according to the release, matches will be played on September 5, 7 and 8, and October 3 and 4 at the national stadium.Amazon Warriors will play their first match at Providence on September 5 against St Lucia Stars from 18:00hrs, St Kitts Patriots on September 7 from 20:00hrs, Barbados Tridents on September 8 from 17:00hrs, Jamaica Tallawahs on October 3 from 18:00hrs and defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders on October 4 from 20:00hrs.Meanwhile, the release further indicated that the eagerly awaited sale of tickets for the 2019 Hero CPL will commence tomorrow at the new CPL Guyana Office at 238 Camp and Quamina Streets, Georgetown.Tickets for this year’s CPL matches cost the following: Red and Green Stands ($5 000), Orange Stand ($3 000) and Grass Mound ($2 000). Tickets can be purchased from 09:00hrs to 17:00hrs on weekdays and from 09:00hrs to 13:00hrs on Saturdays.The release further stated that there have been numerous enquiries regarding the sale of tickets for the Guyana CPL games. With this in mind, fans and cricket enthusiasts are advised to make early purchases so as to avoid the rush as we get closer to match days.Last season, Trinbago Knight Riders, captained by Dwayne Bravo, became the first team to win back-to-back titles in the CPL. They managed to beat Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final at Brian Lara Stadium by eight wickets to lift the championship. The seventh edition of the tournament bowls off on September 4.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *