Breakdown Brass Shares Two New Singles, Including Track From New Will Arnett Netflix Series

first_imgBrooklyn’s Breakdown Brass dropped yet another great new single! The group has unleashed an original juggernaut entitled “Harrow,” a follow-up to their smash debut 45 “Monmouth b/w Next Episode” (Kept Records) and sophomore 45 “The Horseman b/w Mary Jane” (Mixto Music). Driving, dirty horns are punctuated by intense trombone and baritone sax solos – get down with it below:The A-side “Harrow” has already been featured in Will Arnett’s new Netflix series “Flaked,” and with good reason. It jams! The band’s leader, trombonist Nadav Nirenberg, shares his inspiration for the tune.”The tune Harrow came to me super late night, as usual. I finished an arrangement & demo within a couple hours, and the dudes absolutely murdered it! Morgan Price’s one-take solo on bari sax was amazing to watch.”The B-side “Nautilus (Hijacked)” is a dance-floor burner that pays homage to Bob James, whose track Nautilus has been heavily sampled by Slick Rick, Eric B &Rakim, Run-DMC, A Tribe Called Quest, Onyx, Wu Tang Clan, Big L, Pete Rock and about 300 others. “I grew up listening to classic NYC music: Eric B. & Rakim, Big L, The Beatnuts, Slick Rick, etc. Checking out their credits/samples is how I first came across Bob James’ music. Holy damn, what a pocket – do yourself a favor and check him out today,” said Nirenberg.The members of Breakdown Brass stay busy – touring and recording with Ikebe Shakedown, Antibalas, Lee Fields, Sharon Jones, Charles Bradley, Monophonics and many others. “Getting all these busy badasses into a recording studio is no small feat – I’m beyond lucky to call the members of Breakdown Brass my friends.” Whatever it is they’re doing, it’s working!You can pre-order the “Harrow”/”Nautilus (Hijacked)” single here, and head to the band’s Bandcamp for more juicy cuts of their new music.Breakdown Brass CreditsMike Buckley – Tenor Sax, Flute Ray Cetta – Sousaphone Vince Chiarito – Bass Jason Colby – Trumpet Sam Hoyt – Trumpet Raja Kassis – Guitar Kevin Moehringer – Trombone Nadav Nirenberg – Trombone, Percussion Morgan Price – Baritone Sax Chauncey Yearwood – Drumset, CongasWritten by Nadav NirenbergProduced by Nadav Nirenberg Recorded by Vince Chiarito in Brooklyn NY Mixed by Jim Bertini at Galaxy Smith Studios, Brooklyn NY Mastered by Steve Berson at Total Sonic [email protected]last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *